fire damage with circuit breaker

Rhode Island Law Prohibits Solicitation of Fire Damage Victims at Scene of Fire

When you have been the victim of fire damage, it is absolutely devastating. At a time when you are processing what has transpired and dealing with the loss, you should not have to be bombarded by companies and adjusters trying to win your business. That’s why Rhode Island has a law to protect fire victims from being solicited by contractors, insurance adjusters, and restoration companies at the scene of the fire. This also prevents them from inspecting the scene or even merely showing up to the scene. 

This can be seen under R.I. Gen. Laws § 23-28.2-11(c):

“The state fire marshal, and/or any of the deputy state fire marshals or assistant state fire marshals, and/or municipal officials, including without limitation police, fire and building officials, shall prohibit any and all insurance adjusters, contractors and restoration companies from engaging in any solicitation or inspection or any physical presence on the premises under investigation until twenty-four (24) hours after either the municipal fire department and/or the state fire marshal, deputy state fire marshal or assistant state fire marshal releases control of the premises back to its legal owner(s) or occupant(s) unless the insurance adjuster, contractor or restoration company is accompanied by and acting with the premises’ legal owner.”

As stated, this law preventing these individuals from engaging in this behavior covers the first 24 hours after fire authorities release control back to the occupants or owners of the property. However, if the legal owner of the property contacts such individuals and physically accompanies them on-site of the property, they are then permitted to be there. In other words, you won’t be bombarded by anyone for the first 24-hours after you have access to your property – unless you choose to call them sooner. 

Should an insurance adjuster, registration company, or contractor violate this law, they will be subject to a fine of $1,000 for each violation. In certain instances, they could even have their professional registration or license revoked. 

PALUMBO LAW Helps Those in Rhode Island with their Fire Damage Claims

When you are already concerned with physical and emotional healing for you and your loved ones, the last thing you feel like dealing with is a fire damage claim denial. That’s where a qualified fire damage attorney can help. 

At PALUMBO LAW, our experienced Rhode Island Property Insurance lawyers work strategically to help our clients to get what they deserve. We have deep experience working with insurance companies and understand how to deal with them. If you have been illegally contacted by an adjuster, restoration company, or contractor during the first 24-hours after you regain control of your property, if you are planning on filing a fire damage claim, or if have already filed your claim and been denied, we can help. To learn more or to schedule a free consultation, call us today!